Discography: Albums


Each album release has a page within the discography with track listings, original release details, credits and other information. 

Click on an album title from this page to view more information.

Details of 7" and 12" single releases are included on the relevant album page.  

Information on the current availability of the albums can be found on our Buyers Guide page.


Private Parts & Pieces XII: The Golden Hour  Private Parts & Pieces XII: The Golden Hour (2024)

Ant's latest solo album release.

Strings of Light  Strings of Light (2019)

A collection of pieces for acoustic stringed instruments

Private Parts & Pieces XI: City of Dreams (2012)

The eleventh title in the Private Parts & Pieces series.


Seventh Heaven (2012)

A collaboration with composer and arranger Andrew Skeet.  

Seventh Heaven is a double album of co-written orchestral and acoustic portraits.

Ahead of the Field (2010)

A retrospective commercial release of a 1985 Library album that Ant composed for music publishers De Wolfe. 

Missing Links Volume Four: Pathways & Promenades (2009)

The fourth volume in the Missing Links series brings together most of the tracks by Ant that have only previously been released on Various Artists compilations together with a selection of previously unreleased Library Music pieces.

Wildlife (2007) 

A compilation of highlights of the music written and recorded by Ant and Joji Hirota for television wildlife programmes.

Re-issued in January 2023 by Esoteric Recordings as a 2 CD Expanded Edition, with an additional CD of rare & previously unreleased material.

Field Day (2005)

A double album of acoustic pieces.

Archive Collection Volume Two (2004)

A 2 CD collection of previously unreleased pieces and variations recorded between 1971 and 1988.


Radio Clyde (2003)

Ant's radio session recorded for Radio Clyde in the summer of 1978 to promote Wise After The Event.


Private Parts & Pieces X: Soirée (1999)

A collection of pieces for solo piano


Archive Collection Volume One (1998)

A collection of previously unreleased recordings dating back to 1969


Live Radio Sessions (1998)

Versions of tracks recorded with Guillermo Cazenave mainly for Spanish radio to promote the release of The Meadows of Englewood.

Released in Spain by Guillermo's label Astral Records.

Missing Links Volume Three: Time & Tide (1997)

The third release in the Missing Links series, featuring Library and Television music written and recorded by Ant and Joji Hirota between 1992 and 1997.

Private Parts & Pieces IX: Dragonfly Dreams (1996)

Includes new tracks recorded in collaboration with Enrique Berro Garcia.


The Meadows of Englewood (1996)

Instrumental pieces & songs recorded in the summer of 1995 with Guillermo Cazenave.

Released in Spain by Guillermo's label Astral Records.

The Living Room Concert (1995)

Ant's "live-in-the-studio" performance for the Echoes "Living Room Concert" radio programme.


Gypsy Suite (1995)

Four part guitar-based work composed & recorded with Harry Williamson.  

The CD release also includes the original demo recordings of Tarka.

Re-issued in February 2024 by Esoteric Recordings as a Remastered and Expanded Edition, with an additional track.

Missing Links Volume Two: The Sky Road (1994)

A collection of Archive, Commission and Unreleased Album Material


Sail The World (1994)

Ant's music for the Television coverage of the Whitbread Round The World Yacht Race



Private Parts & Pieces VIII: New England (1992)

The second and final album released under the contract with Virgin Records.  Includes contributions from Joji Hirota and Martin Robertson.


Slow Dance 

Slow Dance (1990)

The first album released under Ant's contract with Virgin Records.  

A large-scale instrumental work

Missing Links Volume One: Finger Painting (1989)

A collection of Television and Library Music 1979-89


Tarka (1988)

A large-scale instrumental work composed with Harry Williamson.

First released by PRT and subsequently re-issued by Blueprint Records in 1996.

Private Parts & Pieces VII: Slow Waves, Soft Stars (1987)

Atmospheric synthesiser soundscapes and acoustic guitar pieces


Private Parts & Pieces VI: Ivory Moon (1986)

Piano pieces 1971-1985


Private Parts & Pieces V: Twelve (1985)

A collection of pieces for solo 12-string guitar


Private Parts & Pieces IV: A Catch At The Tables (1984)

Instrumentals and a song recorded between 1979 and 1982


Invisible Men (1983)

Songs in a contemporary style

Written and recorded in collaboration with Richard Scott

Private Parts & Pieces III: Antiques (1982)

A collection of Guitar Duets and Ensembles

Recorded in collaboration with Enrique Berro Garcia

1984 (1981)

An electronic keyboard-based instrumental suite


Private Parts & Pieces II: Back To The Pavilion (1980)

Includes guest appearances from Mike Rutherford, Andy McCulloch and Mel Collins


Sides (1979)

Recorded with the same core team from Wise After The Event and featuring the vocal talents of Dale Newman and Dan Owen.


Private Parts & Pieces (1978)

A Collection of Guitar and Piano Solos, Duets and Ensembles 1972-1976


Wise After The Event (1978)

Contributors include Michael Giles on drums, John G. Perry on bass and Mel Collins on flute and sax.  Produced by Rupert Hine.

The Geese & The Ghost (1977)

Ant's debut solo album.  Includes contributions from Mike Rutherford, Phil Collins and John Hackett.


Back to main Discography page