Release Details            Singles            Track Listing          Credits        Lyrics



First released: 23rd March 1979 (UK), 1st June 1979 (US)

The first 5000 copies of the original UK release of the album included a free copy of Private Parts & Pieces

Produced by Rupert Hine

Cover artwork: Peter Cross

Currently available as a 4 disc (3 CD / 1 DVD)  Deluxe Edition, which includes a new stereo mix and a 5.1 Surround Sound mix of the album.



Track Listing
Original album & CD releases / Disc One of double CD re-issue

Disc Two of double CD re-issue

1. Um & Aargh (4:51) Lyrics

1. Um & Aargh (instrumental mix) (6:51)

2. I Want Your Love (3:55) Lyrics

2. I Want Your Love (instrumental mix) (3:52)

3. Lucy Will (4:05) Lyrics

3. Sisters of Remindum (alternative mix) (4:25)

4. Side Door (3:24) Lyrics

4. Lucy Will (original mix) (4:08)

5. Holy Deadlock (3:48) Lyrics

5. Magdalen (instrumental mix) (7:01)

6. Souvenir (3:45) (CD re-issue only) Lyrics

6. Side Door (original mix) (3:16)

7. Sisters Of Remindum (4:29)

7. Um & Aargh (7" single version) (3:52)

8. Bleak House (6:14) Lyrics

8. Souvenir (instrumental mix) (3:46)

9. Magdalen (7:39) Lyrics

9. Bleak House (alternative mix) (6:19)

10. Nightmare (7:24)

10. Nightmare (alternative mix) (7:30)

11. Magdalen (Instrumental) (6:51) (single CD re-issues only)

11. Catch You When You Fall (instrumental mix) (3:18)
12. Before The Night (demo) (5:05)

Souvenir was the non-album B-side of the Um & Aargh 7" single release

All tracks composed by Anthony Phillips. Lyrics on Holy Deadlock by Martin Hall

Back to the Top


Anthony Phillips: Guitars, Keyboards

The Vicar: Lead Vocals on Um & Aargh, Lucy Will & Holy Deadlock

Mike Giles: Drums

John G. Perry: Bass

Dale Newman: Vocals, Lead Vocals on Bleak House

Dan Owen: Vocals, Lead Vocals on Side Door, I Want Your Love & Souvenir

Ray Cooper: Percussion

Frank Racotti: Timpani

Morris Pert: Congas on Lucy Will

Mel Collins: Tenor Sax on Side Door

John Hackett: Flute on Souvenir

Ralph Bernascone: Lead Vocals on Nightmare

Humbert Ruse: Percussion on Lucy Will, Cor Anglais on Sisters of Remindum

Vic Stench: Cellos on Lucy Will, Bass on Bleak House

Hubert Rinse: Dungeon Vocals, Moravian Yam

Slim Long: C# Crampons, Tuned Bicycle Clips

Back to the Top

Original album release details

LP issues:

Country of Release

Record Label Catalogue Number
UK Arista Records SPART 1085
US Passport Records PB 9834
Germany Vertigo Records 9124 362
Holland Vertigo Records 9124 362
Argentina Vertigo Records 9124 362
Australia Vertigo Records 9124 362
Canada Passport Records 9167-9834
France Vertigo Records 9103 560
Italy Vertigo Records 9124 362
Spain Vertigo Records 9124 362
Japan Vertigo Records RJ-7602

The original vinyl release of the album had a variation between the UK and US releases in the running order on side one.  The UK version has tracks 3, 4 and 5 in the order listed above but on the US release the first side has I Want Your Love followed by Holy Deadlock, Lucy Will and Side Door.

For reasons unknown, the Japanese and some European releases of the album have Mike Rutherford inaccurately listed as the co-writer of Bleak House.  The same releases also give the title of Um & Aargh as 'Um-Aargh-Dept', Sisters of Remindum as 'Sisters of Reminoum' and Magdalene as 'Magdalena'. 

Cassette issues:

Country of Release

Record Label Catalogue Number
US Passport Records PBC 9834
UK Arista Records TCART 1085
Canada Passport Records 5167 9834

8 track cartridge issue:

Country of Release

Record Label Catalogue Number
USA Passport Records PB 8-9834

CD re-issues:

Country of Release Record Label Catalogue Number
UK (1990) Virgin Records CDOVD 316
Japan (1990) Virgin Records VJCP-2323
UK (1995) Blueprint Records BP210 CD
Japan (July 2007) Arcangelo Records ARC7231 (limited edition mini-vinyl sleeve)

2 CD re-issue:

Country of Release

Record Label Catalogue Number
UK (April 2010) Voiceprint Records VP534CD
Japan (May 2018) Belle Antique Records BELLE 182921 (in limited edition mini-vinyl sleeve)

Note: The album was newly re-mastered for the 2010 re-issue and this master was also used for the 2016 and 2018 re-issues.  All other CD releases use the previous mastering from 1990.

4 disc (3 CD / 1 DVD) Definitive Edition

Country of Release Record Label Catalogue Number
UK (April 2016) Esoteric Recordings ECLEC 42528

The Definitive Edition of the album was released in a clamshell box with a small poster.  The set includes a new stereo mix and a 5.1 surround sound mix of the album by Andy Miles and Simon Heyworth.

Back to the Top

Singles released from this album

Um & Aargh / Souvenir

Arista ARIST 252, released 6th April 1979


The UK 7" single release with the non-album B-side Souvenir.

Um & Aargh / Souvenir

Vertigo 6079 626, released 1979

The Dutch 7" single release, with a different picture sleeve to the UK release.

NB: The title of the A-side on the single is given as "Um-Aargh-Dept"

There was also a rare promo-only single released in France in 1979:

Um & Aargh / Side Door

Country of Release

Record Label Catalogue Number
France Vertigo Records 6837 565

The label of the single actually lists Um & Aargh as "Um.Aargh.Dept", which was a working title for the track.

Back to Ant's solo albums