Discography: Single Releases

This section of the discography gives an overview of the various singles that have been released from Ant's album releases

We would like to thank Jeremy Charlett for supplying the scans of some of the items in this section.

7" single releases

Collections 7" promo single 

Collections / God If I Saw Her Now (1977)

The only single release from Ant's debut solo album The Geese & The Ghost was this promotional-only disc that was released in France, with Collections on the A-side and God If I Her Now on the reverse.




We're All As We Lie / Squirrel / Sitars & Nebulous (1978)

To promote the release of Wise After The Event, an edited version of We're All As We Lie was released in the UK, the US and Holland.  The B-side to the release were the non-album tracks Squirrel and Sitars & Nebulous - the latter being one of the original link pieces from the album in it's originally planned form.  It was subsequently included on Back To The Pavilion as Von Runker's Yorker Music.

Whilst the UK and US singles were released in a plain single cover, the Dutch release had this unique picture sleeve which uses one of the promo photos of Ant originally taken to tie-in with the release of The Geese & The Ghost the previous year.

The edited single version of We're All As We Lie and Squirrel have both been included on the double CD re-issue of Wise After The Event.

Um & Aargh / Souvenir (1979)

To promote the release of Sides, an edited version of Um & Aargh was released in the UK and Holland.  The B-side of both singles was the non-album track Souvenir.  Both releases had their own picture sleeves; the cover seen here is the Dutch one.

In a further variation, Um & Aargh was issued as a promotional-only 7" release in France with Side Door on the reverse.

The edited single version of Um & Aargh and Souvenir have both been included on the double CD re-issue of Sides.

Prelude '84 / Anthem 1984 (1981)

RCA Records released Prelude '84 from 1984 as a single to promote the release of the album, coupling it with the album's closing track Anthem 1984.  

This single was released in the UK and Spain - both releases came with picture sleeves with some variations between the two. 

Both tracks on the single are exactly the same as the album versions.

The Anthem From Tarka / The Rising Spring (1988)

To promote the release of Tarka in 1988, PRT Records released a 'single mix' version of The Anthem From Tarka as a single with the non-album track The Rising Spring as the B-side.  The single was also released by EMI Records in Australia. 

The UK release came in the picture sleeve seen here.

The 'single mix' of The Anthem From Tarka has yet to appear on any other release.  Part of The Rising Spring is included in Movement 2 of Tarka on the 1996 CD re-issue but the full length version of the track has not been released elsewhere. 

12" single release

Sally / The Women Were Watching / Exocet (1984)

The only single release from the Invisible Men album was Sally, which was issued as a 12" single by Street Tunes Records in the UK in the Spring of 1984.  There was no corresponding 7" single release.  In keeping with the UK release of the album, the single was credited to The Anthony Phillips Band.  

Two tracks were included on the B-side - The Women Were Watching and Exocet - the latter receiving it's first release in the UK as it had been replaced by It's Not Easy on the album when it was released by Street Tunes. 



CD single release

The Anthem From Tarka (1988)

In addition to the 7" single release of The Anthem From Tarka listed above, PRT Records also released a CD single version which included three further tracks.  The complete track listing of the CD single is as follows:

1. The Anthem From Tarka (single mix) (4:41)

2. The Rising Spring (1:30)

3. Excerpt from Tarka - Movement I, Part I (4:01)

4. Excerpt from Tarka - Movement III (3:00)

5. The Anthem From Tarka (single mix extended version) (6:05)

The CD single was released in a card sleeve with the same artwork as the 7" single release.


Back to the main discography page