The story of a year in the life of the Salcombe lifeboat crew, the ordinary men and one woman with the extraordinary job of putting out to sea when other sailors head for the safety of home.  Based in the small town in South Devon for a full year, the Central Television team captured dramas at sea and on land which made this one of the most eventful twelve months for the people of Salcombe and for the film crew who lived and worked with them.

Transmission history

Episode Title Broadcast Date
1 Shaken But Not Stirred 28th April 1993
2 In Safe Hands 5th May 1993
3 By Invitation Only 12th May 1993
4 Never A Cross Word Spoken 19th May 1993
5 Friendly Rivals 2nd June 1993
6 Let Not The Deep Swallow Me Up 9th June 1993

All episodes 30 minutes duration


Written and narrated by Michael Wood

Original music by Anthony Phillips

Co-producer/sound: Julian Ware

Produced, directed and filmed by Graham Johnston

Music Details

A selection of some of the music from this programme was released on The Sky Road


Back to UK Television Commissions